To sleep, perchance to Dream

Insomnia2002Poster

I am exhausted.

It is currently one in the morning. I crawled into bed four hours ago with the intent to go to sleep. Did this happen? Obviously not. Instead, I rolled around trying to get comfortable for about 45 minutes, got out of bed to change into more comfortable sweatpants, drank a glass of water, read another 150 pages in the book I’m reading (“The Love of Her Life” by Harriet Evans, incase you were wondering) and now I’m here blogging.

This has been going on for about two and a half weeks now, ever since I went home for break. At first, I thought it was because my bed in my apartment is much more comfortable than my one at home, but it seems like the problem has followed me back to school.

Which is why I’m here in cyberspace while the rest of the apartment building is silent.

A small part of my insomnia could be contributed to the fact that I know I should be writing. I’ve had this great idea for a scene for the past few days, but I’m the type of person who likes to have things plotted out before I sit down at the computer to type it out. I know what characters I want in the scene, I know one of the lines of dialogue I want to have in the scene, but I don’t know how to get from A to B in one fell swoop. I know I should sit down at the computer and just bang something out and see what comes of it, but every time I attempt to do so, I end up staring at a blank screen before closing Scrivener and opening up my internet explorer looking for some sort of inspiration. Three hours later, I close down all the windows and go to work on something else.

That’s how I started writing this blog post in the first place. I opened up the draft in the hope that I could finally get it done tonight, but again nothing. I’m hoping that by expressing my frustrations in a post, one of two things will happen. Either 1) something will click and I can bang out this scene or 2) I get tired enough to fall asleep.┬áRight now I’m leaning toward the second, so I’m going to close the computer for another half an hour and see what happens. Sweet dreams, readers.

2 thoughts on “To sleep, perchance to Dream

  1. The hazy area between peace and production, where the mind hangs in terrible limbo, is a place I’ve spent too many entire days. I usually alleviate the swelling mental frustration by writing something crazy. Irrational characters, writing styles unfettered by rules, nontraditional structures. I don’t always find the end result valuable, but the peace I usually reach is invaluable. Maybe this could help you. If you do write irrationally, I would suggest you post it on your blog. I’d enjoy reading it.

Leave a Reply

