The Best Laid Plans

Image

This week I have written a grand total of 1,263 words. They’re not quality words either. They’re the “attempt to get everything on the screen as quickly as possible before it leaves your brain.” Take this following selection for example:

“Hey Lizzy,” Julie stopped at her desk. “Ren and I are going to lunch, you coming?”
“Sure,” Elizabeth grabbed her purse off the back of her chair and followed Julie to the elevator.
“How are you liking it so far?” Julie pressed the lobby button and leaned against the back wall.
Elizabeth shrugged. “I’m keeping my head above water, I guess.”
Julie smiled. “I asked how you liked it, not if you were handling it.”

You see what I mean. While this is only a first draft, so help me, if I write anything else like this I am going to have to back away slowly from my laptop.

So I decided to do what I usually do when I am feeling a bit down: turn to television. I know I should be reading more instead, honing my craft, etc, but sometimes you just need to escape into something mindless for a little bit. As a self-proclaimed television addict, I have plenty of DVD sets to turn to when the creativity juices are just refusing to flow. I turned to one show I know can always boost my mood: White Collar.

I made it through three episodes before pulling out the laptop and starting to write crap again. No matter how bad it was, I got it down. Every single stinking idea, I typed it out. Why? It’s simple.

White Collar revolves around the absolutely gorgeous Matt Bomer Neal Caffrey, a con man now consulting for the FBI. Even though he’s technically playing for the good guys now, Caffrey constantly has to go into the gray area of the law to get things done. This means playing jump rope with the line of ethics set forth by his handler, Agent Peter Burke. While Burke is playing by the rules, Caffrey is willing to do what needs to be done. When they’re each working on their own perfect plans, nothing goes well. It’s not until they come together and compromise that the magic happens.

Hopefully, this means that writing less the quality things (much like this blog post) I am compromising with the muse to send down something good. At least that’s the plan.

Any other suggestions for busting this rut?

(If you made it through this entire post, I thank you.)

2 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans

  1. You’re doing the right thing–just get the first draft down on the page. You know what Hemingway said about first drafts. You can worry about the quality later, when you revise again…and again…and again.

Leave a Reply

