Procrastination Nation

Image

See this map? This is where I’m at right now in my life.

We have reached the crucial part of the semester, and that is dead week. Starting on Monday, I will only have a week until finals begin. This is the time of year when I sit back and reflect on just how much I should have accomplished before I reached this point. Sadly, the list is usually quite long and honestly a little depressing.

I’ll admit it, I’m a chronic procrastinator. The problem started in middle school. Not to brag or anything, but I was somewhat smart back then. Homework and tests were easy to me, so I would put of studying until the last possible moment and then walk away with an A. The pattern continued into high school, where I learned I could also do the same thing with papers and still maintain a solid GPA. And then college hit.

Talk about a wake up call. I could no longer just skate by and do okay. Assignments require a little bit more effort than what was expected of me previously. Tests now require that I actually read the textbook that I paid millions a good amount of money for. Does this stop me from doing it? Absolutely not.

Which brings us to today. I’ve set up my planner, I know when my tests are, and already I’m trying to plan next week so I can spend as much time with my friends as possible before break. I’ll probably end up cramming the night before like I usually do, it’s who I am. The first step of recovery is admitting you have a problem, right?

That’s not to say procrastinating school work hasn’t served me well in other areas of my life. Case in point, I was avoiding putting together a presentation over Thanksgiving break and instead used the time to import all of my random ramblings into Scrivener. As it turned out, I had written 50,000 words more than I thought I had. (This goes to show the importance of saving files in the right folder!)

I’ve set a date of when I want to have the first draft of my story done. Jackie, one of my good friends who reads my work, knows the date, and I know she’ll hold me to it. This isn’t something I can wait until the last possible moment to get done. I mean, I finished NaNoWriMo this year thanks to a 11,000 word surge the last week, but I don’t think I can push out 100,000 words in the same timeframe. This is the first time I’ve set a concrete goal for an end date, instead of just writing whenever the urge comes over me. Scrivener has this awesome feature where you can set your target word count and a deadline for when you want to meet it. In turn, the program will tell you how much you need to write a day in order to meet the deadline. I wish I would have found it during NaNoWriMo, but I’m glad I have it now. Right now I only need to write a little more than 500 words to stay on target, which isn’t intimidating. In fact, I’ve often found myself getting into a groove and writing more than what’s needed, which is fantastic! As long as I can stay focused, I can do this!

(Wait, someone wants to go to Frozen tonight? Yeah, I’ll totally go!)

One thought on “Procrastination Nation

Leave a Reply

